Loyal by Rebecca Ascher-Walsh- Review

Loyal cover

Title: Loyal: 38 Inspiring Tales of Bravery, Heroism, and the Devotion of Dogs

Author: Rebecca Ascher-Walsh

Rating: 5/5

Release Date: March 7, 2017

Description from the publisher: “This special collection of dog stories and photographs features four-legged heroes who have worked side by side with soldiers, searched the wreckage of natural and man-made disasters, changed families’ lives through emotional support, and administered aid around the world and at home in the United States. Heartwarming photographs and touching anecdotes bring to life thirty-eight caring canines who have served the people who mean the most to them, from a German Shepherd who leads a blind man on his marathon training mission to a belly rub-loving Sheltie who supports at-risk youth in the classroom. For anyone who has experienced the extraordinary affection of a dog, Loyal is a lasting celebration of the joys of canine companionship.”

Review: This was an absolutely astounding book for a dog lover like me. It was a super quick read, I think I read the whole book in an hour, and I was sad that it was over. I loved reading about programs that employ shelter or rescue dogs rather than going to a breeder. What is better than saving dogs lives to save people’s lives? I know which organizations I will be donating to in the future!

I loved that these dogs all served such different services. I was really surprised to learn that there are organizations that take shelter dogs to prisons and have the inmates train them, teaching the inmates valuable lessons about life and love. What a wonderful idea! I thought I knew the power of a dogs love, but I had no idea. I salute these brave dogs that go to work every day, and some who definitely risk their lives for their people.

As well as reading wonderful, heartwarming stories about brave dogs and their influence on their communities, and the world really, this book offered information about the different breeds of dogs mentioned in the book as well as some little known facts about dogs. I was fascinated by some of the information that I had no clue about!

Recommendation: This book would be perfect for any dog lover. I couldn’t recommend it enough.

Check out more about this book from National Geographic Here!

About Rebecca Ascher-Walsh: Rebecca Ascher-Walsh is a writer who specializes in celebrity and lifestyle coverage, but who also loves dogs and telling stories about amazing animals. She contributes to many newspapers and national magazines including Entertainment Weekly, Adweek, and the Los Angeles Times. She is a volunteer at a high-kill shelter in Manhattan and a founding director of the Deja Foundation, devoted to funding the medical care and training costs of dogs rescued from high-kill shelters.

 

*I received an advanced copy of this book from the publisher. A positive review was not required. All opinions are my own.*

 

tlc tour host tlc logo

 

One thought on “Loyal by Rebecca Ascher-Walsh- Review

Leave a comment