The Berenstain Bears Bless Our Pets by Mike Berenstain- Review

_225_350_Book.2212.cover

Title: The Berenstain Bears Bless Our Pets

Author: Mike Berenstain

Rating: 5/5 

Release Date: March 7, 2017

 Description from the publisher: In the newest Berenstain Bear Living Lights title, The Berenstain Bears Bless Our Pets, Brother, Sister, and Honey Bear love their pets Little Lady, Gracie, Swish, and Cutsie … they are just like part of the Bear family. So when Preacher Brown holds a special Blessing of the Pets service on Sunday, the Bear family joins in. But what starts as a peaceful gathering of Bear Country neighbors and their animal friends on the lawn of the Chapel—including dogs, cats, rats, goats, and even a snake or two—ends up needing a little heavenly intervention.

 Review: This book is absolutely adorable! I read the Bernstein Bear’s books growing up and I am so glad I get to read them to my children. There’s something so special about passing down stories that meant so much to you as a child. It’s a wonderful way to connect and it makes great stories for my kids. They love to hear about grandma reading these books to me.

The illustrations are adorable! They are perfect for little one’s eyes and are detailed enough to keep then interested. The colors are intriguing for smaller kids too.

I love that this book combines kid’s love for animals and their pets with their faith in God. I want my children to learn about God in a fun and interesting way, making it more personal and easily relatable, and this book does it perfectly.

The fact that this book also covers the work that goes into having a pet and the responsibility that goes into it, is fantastic for kids to learn early. I want my kids to learn responsibility while they are young so they carry that forward in their adult life. As it says in Proverbs 22:6 “Train up a child in the way he should go, And even when he is old he will not depart from it.” 

Recommendation: I would recommend this book for any child.

*I received an advanced copy of this book from the publisher. A positive review was not required. All opinions are my own.*

 

Leave a Reply

