Book Review! The Best Kind of People by Zoe Whittall

Title: The Best Kind of People

Author: Zoe Whittall

Rating: 3.5/5

Description from Goodreads: What if someone you trusted was accused of the unthinkable?

George Woodbury, an affable teacher and beloved husband and father, is arrested for sexual impropriety at a prestigious prep school. His wife, Joan, vaults between denial and rage as the community she loved turns on her. Their daughter, Sadie, a popular over-achieving high school senior, becomes a social pariah. Their son, Andrew, assists in his father’s defense, while wrestling with his own unhappy memories of his teen years. A local author tries to exploit their story, while an unlikely men’s rights activist attempts to get Sadie onside their cause. With George locked up, how do the members of his family pick up the pieces and keep living their lives? How do they defend someone they love while wrestling with the possibility of his guilt?

With exquisite emotional precision, award-winning author Zoe Whittall explores issues of loyalty, truth, and the meaning of happiness through the lens of an all-American family on the brink of collapse.”

Review: This book drew me in right away. I was intrigued by the plot and kept trying to figure out if George was guilty or not. I would think that I knew, and then there would be something new that would come up and it would make me rethink it.

I loved how this book focused on the family and what they endured. Often times we think about the people who are accused and go to prison, but I don’t see as much about their families, and what they go through. The blame that often gets put onto the family is both unfair and hurtful. This book showed just how much these things matter.

This was well written; the writing was vivid and very detailed. I felt as though I was there, with this family through the worst moments of their lives. I could picture their beautiful home, the prison, the courthouse, everything. I got lost in this story and it was hard to pull myself out of it when it was over.

I felt as though the story was realistic and relevant to our society today. It really makes you wonder if you truly know anyone. If someone you loved was accused of something horrible, could you say without a doubt, that you knew they were innocent? We all want to think that we would, but could we?

*I received an advanced copy of this book from the publisher. A positive review was not required. All opinions are my own.*

 

Leave a Reply

