Book Review! Fault Lines by Thomas Locke

9780800724375

Title: Fault Lines
Author: Thomas Locke
Rating:
1/5
Release Date: 
August 1, 2017

Description from the publisher: “What if reality is only the edge of possibility?

There isn’t much that can throw Charlie Hazard off balance. But the mystery woman with the striking eyes and the intense request to follow her–now–is about to shake his world. Knowing little more than her name, Charlie leaves his post as a guard at the Satellite Beach community center for what he thinks is just another risk-containment job. But Gabriella, an experimental psychologist, has far more in store for him than protection duty–if the two of them survive the test.

Reese Clawson relishes her work at the Combine and all the perks and power that come with it–including the ability to manipulate perceptions. But the Combine never anticipated this mind-shifting technology. If Gabriella’s experiments succeed, the Combine would be destroyed. And Reese will never allow that to happen.”

Review: It isn’t very often that I really dislike a book that I read. I am fortunate to have good luck with books. This one, however, was not my cup of tea. I should have known by reading the description, but I have always enjoyed books by this publisher so I thought it would be a pleasant surprise. I have enjoyed many books that I wouldn’t have thought I would like so I try to keep an open mind.

This book was just way too sci-fi for me and really unrealistic. I was turned off right off the bat when Charlie decides to leave his work and go with Gabriella, a girl he knows nothing about. ***Slight spoiler alert, this is all in the first few pages, but if you are someone who needs everything to be a surprise, skip the rest of the paragraph.***Then they are driving along and when he asks questions about where they are going and why, she tells him that anything she says will not clarify anything, really? Not a red flag that something is weird? Then bikers attack, in a totally improbable way, and he still continues on with her because she says that they can’t be late, for what he still has no idea, I mean seriously? I would have ran far far away a long time before that. Then it really just get’s weirder from there.

Like I said before, this was just not my cup of tea. I know a lot of people enjoy the sci-fi genre and they would probably really love this book, but I don’t enjoy these types of books. I have to feel that it is at least somewhat probable to really enjoy a story and that was not there with this book.

Read an excerpt here: http://cdn.bakerpublishinggroup.com/processed/book-resources/files/Excerpt_9780800724375.pdf?1495466263

 

 

*I received an advanced copy of this book from the publisher. A positive review was not required. All opinions are my own.*

Leave a Reply

