Review! I’ll Push You: A Journey of 500 Miles, Two Best Friends, and One Wheelchair by Patrick Gray and Justin Skeesuck

978-1-4964-2170-8

Title: I’ll Push You: A Journey of 500 Miles, Two Best Friends, and One Wheelchair
Author: 
Patrick Gray and Justin Skeesuck
Rating:
5/5
Release Date: 
June 6, 2017

Description from Goodreads: “Two best friends, 500 miles, one wheelchair, and the challenge of a lifetime.
Friendship takes on new meaning in this true story of Justin and Patrick, born less than two days apart in the same hospital. Best friends their whole lives, they grew up together, went to school together, and were best man in each other’s weddings. When Justin was diagnosed with a neuromuscular disease that robbed him of the use of his arms and legs, Patrick was there, helping to feed and care for him in ways he’d never imagined. Determined to live life to the fullest, the friends refused to give into despair or let physical limitations control what was possible for Justin.

So when Justin heard about the Camino de Santiago, a 500-mile trek through Spain, he wondered aloud to Patrick whether the two of them could ever do it. Patrick’s immediate response was: “I’ll push you.”

I’ll Push You is the real-life story of this incredible journey. A travel adventure full of love, humor, and spiritual truth, it exemplifies what every friendship is meant to be and shows what it means to never find yourself alone. You’ll discover how love and faith can push past all limits–and make us the best versions of ourselves.”

Review: What an inspirational story! We all get down at times about how life sucks or isn’t fair but this the story of a man who’s life and independence is constantly being shortened by a disease they aren’t even sure what is,  and he decides to go on a 500 mile trip in his wheelchair across mountainous terrain, why not?

How many of us take for granted our ability to walk? I bet almost everyone who is fully able to walk without issue. I know I do, every single day. The story of Justin Skeesuck made me appreciate my ability to just get up and walk around whenever I want. I get uncomfortable when I have to sit for a prolonged period of time and have to get up and walk around a bit. I cannot imagine what it was like for him to sit in his chair for hours upon hours through extremely rough terrain, using all his core muscles to keep him balanced, without being able to get up and stretch out. Yet he did it, day after day, and with an incredible sense of humor.

The friendship between Justin and Patrick is one worth envying. I have never seen such dedication to a friend before. There bond is so strong and is such an incredible gift to each of them. The way they are able to completely rely on and trust one another is astonishing. They seemed to have that bond before this trip, but this trip really seemed to solidify it even more.

I was incredibly inspired by this story. If they can do this, why do I sit around complaining about life not going the way I want it to? We can make our dreams happen, just like Justin and Patrick did.

 

*I received an advanced copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers. A positive review was not required. All opinions are my own.*

Leave a Reply

