Dark Deception by Nancy Mehl- Review

Dark Deception

Title: Dark Deception
Author: 
Nancy Mehl
Rating:
5/5
Release Date: 
June 6, 2017

Description: When Kate was 19, she and her twin sister were attacked by a serial killer in St. Louis. After her sister was murdered, Kate escaped and became the only person who could identify the killer. After testifying against Gerard, Kate went into witness protection.

Tony, the U. S. Marshall who helped Kate through the trial, is assigned to bring Kate back to St. Louis after Gerard was released from prison following new evidence pointing to a different killer. When Tony arrives in Shelter Cove, Arkansas, a new threat to Kate’s life surfaces and they both get far more than they bargained for.

Review: I loved this book. I really loved Justice Delayed so I was really excited to get my hands on this sequel; I was not disappointed. This was a very suspenseful and exciting book with some well written romance and faith included. The Christian theme was evident but like the romance, it was relatable and not overpowering. These were mere backdrops to the adventure and adrenaline pumping action.

The writing was so vivid it took me some time after reading this book to disassociate myself from this small mountain town and crazy serial killers. I can still envision the cabins and mountains that were so wonderfully described.

The characters were well developed and felt very real. I loved how protective Tony was of Kate and how Kate’s strength continued to grow throughout the book. They were a perfect match and I enjoyed their journey together. These felt like people I could know in real life and for a while I felt as though I really did know them.

This was a quick read for me. I read it in two sittings and was genuinely surprised when I saw I was at the epilogue. I was disappointed it was over, but now I will just have to look forward to the next book in the series!

Read an Excerpt HERE

 

*I received an advanced copy of this book from the publisher. A positive review was not required. All opinions are my own.*

Leave a Reply

