Emma in the Night by Wendy Walker- Review

Title: Emma in the Night
Author: 
Wendy Walker
Rating:
4.5/5
Release Date: 
August 8, 2017

Description from Goodreads: From the bestselling author of All Is Not Forgotten comes a thriller about two missing sisters, a twisted family, and what happens when one girl comes back…

One night five years ago, the Tanner sisters disappeared: fifteen-year-old Cass and seventeen-year-old Emma. Three years later, Cass returns, without her sister Emma. Her story is one of kidnapping and betrayal, of a mysterious island where the two were held. But to forensic psychiatrist Dr. Abby Winter, something doesn’t add up. Looking deep within this dysfunctional family Dr. Winter uncovers a life where boundaries were violated and a narcissistic parent held sway. And where one sister’s return might just be the beginning of the crime.

Review: This book was intense and I was drawn in from the first few pages. I read almost this entire book on one lazy Sunday; I finally had to put it down to go to bed with less than 100 pages left. I finished it quickly Monday. My interest did waver a bit towards the end, it started to feel a bit drawn out, but then it was quickly brought back in and all the loose ends tied up neatly.

This was one of those books where you can’t figure out what’s going on. As soon as you think you have it all figured out, something shifts and you start to doubt again. There was only one piece of the puzzle that I was able to discern and I even started to doubt that a couple times.

I was apprehensive about this book because I really did not enjoy The Girl on the Train or Gone Girl but I really enjoyed this one.

Recommendation: I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys physiological thrillers. Even if you didn’t enjoy The Girl on the Train or Gone Girl, you very well might enjoy this one.

 

*I received an advanced copy of this book from the publisher. A positive review was not required. All opinions are my own.*

 

Leave a Reply

