Book Review! Flood by Melissa Scholes Young

Title: Flood     
Author: 
Melissa Scholes Young 
Rating:
4/5

Description: This book is the story of what happens when you leave town, and then come back. Laura Brooks left Hannibal, Missouri, (hometown of beloved Mark Twain) after high school graduation in pursuit of a nursing degree. After her job in Florida is cut due to budgets, she has nowhere to turn but back home, only it’s not the soft landing spot she had hoped. Her mother is less than welcoming, her best friend Rose is going through a messy divorce and is adamant on putting Laura in the middle, and her godson Bobby captures her heart in a way she didn’t expect.

Review: I enjoyed this book more than I thought I would when I read the description. The characters were both relatable and exacerbating. Rose and Josh drove me insane and I wanted to slap both of them almost every time they were mentioned. Laura was decent and I liked her most of the time. She was in a rough and very confusing time of life and I have definitely been there before. She was working on trying to be better and figure out her life. Bobby was super sweet and a kid that most parents would adore. I love how he was the most mature person in this whole book and he was 12.

This book is basically immature adults dealing with the realities of life. They struggle to make ends meet and fight the flood all the while passing the blame for the problems in their life. This book felt like real life, messy, chaotic, and utterly confusing.

The writing was vivid and I could imagine the town of Hannibal and all the wacky residents.  The only thing I didn’t like about it was all the Mark Twain information between chapters. Some of it was interesting but then it just started to feel tedious to me. Luckily for me, these were really short and easy reading; It just didn’t seem pertinent to me.

Overall, I would recommend this book. It’s not a book that I couldn’t put down, but it held my attention and kept me wanting more.

 

*I received an advanced copy of this book from the publisher. A positive review was not required. All opinions are my own.*

Leave a Reply

