A Speck in the Sea by John Aldridge and Anthony Sosinski- Review

Title: A Speck in the Sea
Author:
John Aldridge and Anthony Sosinski
Rating:
5/5
Release Date: 
May 23, 2017

Description from Goodreads: “In the dead of night on July 24, 2013, John Aldridge was thrown off the back of the Anna Mary while his fishing partner, Anthony Sosinski, slept below. Their memoir, A Speck in the Sea intertwines Aldridge’s wrenching first-person account with the narrative of the massive, constantly evolving rescue operation designed to save him.As desperate hours tick by, Sosinski, the families, the local fishing community, and the U.S. Coast Guard in three states mobilize in an unprecedented search effort that culminates in a rare and exhilarating success. A tale of survival, perseverance, and community, A Speck in the Sea tells of one man’s struggle to survive as friends and strangers work separate, and together, to bring him home.”

Review: This was an amazing story of survival and rescue. I was drawn into this story right away and found this story fascinating, terrifying, and incredibly uplifting. This was told from many different perspectives and at times it was confusing, but really interesting to hear what all those people were going through while Johnny was overboard.

This book gave me goose bumps and I even shed a few tears at the end when reading the different reactions to hearing Johnny was safely rescued. I cannot imagine going through what his family and friends experienced and I pray I never have to. The community support throughout the search for Johnny was also unbelievably moving.

The only thing I didn’t like about this book was the parts when it was giving the background on Montauk Harbor. I had to skim parts of that because it was long and I didn’t find it real interesting or relevant but others might feel differently. Those parts were not real long and if I skimmed them, it didn’t take long to get past. The rest of the story was intense and wonderfully captivating.

Recommendation: I would highly recommend this book to anyone. It’s short enough to read in a weekend and it’s such an amazing story and I am extremely glad I read it.

 

 

*I received an advanced copy of this book from the publisher. A positive review was not required. All opinions are my own.*

Leave a Reply

