The Beach House: Coming Home by Georgia Bockoven- Reveiw

The Beach House Coming Home cover

Title: The Beach House: Coming Home
Author: 
Georgia Bockoven
Rating:
5/5
Release Date: 
May 16, 2017

About The Beach House: Coming Home

  • Paperback:352 pages
    • Publisher:William Morrow Paperbacks (May 16, 2017)

Bestselling author Georgia Bockoven is at her powerful and emotional peak in this novel perfect for fans of Nancy Thayer and Elin Hilderbrand.

Unlock the door to the beach house…a place where life slows down, people come together, and love is the strongest force of all.

After you’ve given your baby to strangers, what do you say when someone asks if you have children?

Fourteen years ago, Melinda Campbell was fifteen and a half, pregnant and terrified. Desperate to protect her baby from a malicious grandfather and needed at home to take care of her own critically ill father, Melinda makes the most generous, heart-wrenching choice of all: adoption. Now she’s living the successful life her father struggled to give her, but missing her daughter with a longing that shadows every joy.

Jeremy Richmond knows the beach house the way a painter knows his canvas, intimately and focused on detail. His life revolves around his adopted daughter, Shiloh, the girl who’s owned his heart from the moment he first held her as an infant. They were a picture-perfect family until Shiloh was diagnosed with pediatric lupus and Jeremy’s wife walked away.

When Shiloh tells her father she’s tired of fighting her illness and wants to meet her biological mother before it’s too late, Jeremy agrees to find a woman he has no desire to meet.

From the moment Melinda and Jeremy come face-to-face, they realize their worlds will never be the same. Will the beach house that has harbored troubled hearts for decades prove to be the balm they need to heal…?

 

Review: Heartwarming and riveting, this book captured my heart I was sad when I turned that last page. I cannot imagine the pain of giving my child away, and this was something that interested me immensely. I know people who have given their child up for adoption and I have always admired. This story was interesting because it gave all three perspectives, the birth mother, the adoptive father, and the little girl. Each has powerful feelings about the adoption and they are completely different from each other.

Melinda had such a tough childhood and I felt so horrible for her, yet she had such amazing parents who loved her so much. From growing up without much money, her father’s poor health, falling in love with a boy whose father was pure evil, then the untimely death of Daniel, and having no choice but to give up her baby, and then the guilt and judgment that she dealt with about that choice. The lot she was dealt in life was difficult but she was still such a strong and loving person. I loved her character and was impressed with her throughout the book.

This is a book I would highly recommend to anyone. This would be a perfect beach read! I read this in one and a half sittings, making it a perfect vacation or lazy weekend read.

 

About Georgia Bockoven

Georgia Bockoven AP

Georgia Bockoven is an award-winning author who began writing fiction after a successful career as a freelance journalist and photographer. Her books have sold more than three million copies worldwide. The mother of two, she resides in Northern California with her husband, John.

Find out more about Georgia at her website, and connect with her on Facebook.

Purchase Links: HarperCollins | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

 

*I received an advanced copy of this book from the publisher. A positive review was not required. All opinions are my own.*

 

Advertisements

One thought on “The Beach House: Coming Home by Georgia Bockoven- Reveiw

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s