With Love, Wherever You Are by Dandi Daley Mackall- Review

978-1-4964-2122-7

Title: With Love, Wherever You Are

Author:  Dandi Daley Mackall

Rating: 5/5

Release Date: March 7, 2017

 Description from Goodreads: “Everyone knows that war romances never last. . . .
Helen Eberhart always had to fight for what she wanted. Survival in a family of thirteen gave her the grit to push through nurse’s training and support herself. But after the attack on Pearl Harbor, she can’t stand catering to the pampered patients on Chicago’s North Shore. Enlisting as an Army nurse, Helen is transferred to a military hospital in Battle Creek, Michigan. There she comes face-to-face with the waves of broken bodies of the wounded soldiers, many no older than her beloved brothers.

Frank Daley wasn’t trying to be a hero. He’d only enlisted to finish medical school, confident that the war would be over before his deferment ran out. Life just worked out for him that way. But Lieutenant Frank R. Daley, MD, is sent straight from his graduation to boot camp in Battle Creek as his last stop before a battlefield hospital in Europe. And none of his training prepares him for the chance encounter with the spirited nurse who steals his heart.

After a whirlwind romance and courthouse wedding, Helen and Frank are sent to the front lines of Europe with only letters to connect them for months at a time. Surrounded by danger and desperately wounded patients, they soon find that only the war seems real—and their marriage more and more like a distant dream. If they make it through the war, will their marriage survive?”

 Review: Amazing, incredible, uplifting, these words don’t even begin to describe this story. I was sucked into this story right away and it held me there until I turned that last page, actually it still hasn’t truly let me go to be honest. I felt the love and pain these two wonderful people experienced during such a sad and horrible part of history.

I loved each and every one of the characters, ok with the exception of Victoria, her I couldn’t stand. These people felt so real and close to me. I wish I knew them, but in a way I really feel as though I do.

Since this book based on the author’s parents, you could truly feel the sincerity and depth of the story; it brought such a personal touch to not only the characters but the entire story. All the descriptions of the hospitals, the different cities they were in, and the landscapes surrounding them were so vivid that I could picture it so clearly, I feel as though I was there myself.

I loved that this book had a clear ending. The lose ends were all wrapped up nicely and I wasn’t left hanging. I closed the book sad that it was over, but satisfied as well. This is my first book by Dandi Daley Mackall, but it definitely won’t be my last. I just hope the rest of her books are at least half as good as this one was.

Recommendation: I would recommend this book to anyone! Anyone who loves WWII books, historical novels, or romances would especially love this book.

Author’s Website: http://www.dandibooks.com/

Read the first chapter here: https://files.tyndale.com/thpdata/firstChapters/978-1-4964-2121-0.pdf

*I received an advanced copy of this book from the publisher. A positive review was not required. All opinions are my own.*

 

 

One thought on “With Love, Wherever You Are by Dandi Daley Mackall- Review

Leave a Reply

