The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden-Review

Title: The Bear and the Nightingale         

Author: Katherine Arden              

Rating: 4/5

Release Date: 01/10/2017

Goodreads synopsis: “A young woman’s family is threatened by forces both real and fantastical in this debut novel inspired by Russian fairy tales.

In a village at the edge of the wilderness of northern Russia, where the winds blow cold and the snow falls many months of the year, a stranger with piercing blue eyes presents a new father with a gift – a precious jewel on a delicate chain, intended for his young daughter. Uncertain of its meaning, Pytor hides the gift away and Vasya grows up a wild, willful girl, to the chagrin of her family. But when mysterious forces threaten the happiness of their village, Vasya discovers that, armed only with the necklace, she may be the only one who can keep the darkness at bay.”

Review: This book did have a slow start for me. It took quite a while for me to get really interested in the story. It was hard for me to follow what was happening because there were a lot of characters and the view-point changed frequently. Also, there is a lot in this book about the Russian culture and a lot of the phrases were foreign to me, making it more difficult to keep reading. However, once I wrote down the characters and got the flow of the book, it got much better.

This was very well written and I could picture the story in my head. Once I got into it, the words disappeared and I was there, watching it all unfold. At times this book got quite dark, and I had to be careful of when I read this or I would have really weird dreams.

Recommendation: I would recommend this book to anyone who loves fantasy books.

 

*I received a complimentary copy from the publisher. A positive review was not required, all opinions are my own*

Leave a Reply

