June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

9780553447682

Cassie is a 25 year old woman who moves into her grandmother’s crumbling mansion after she passes away. Cassie is depressed about her grandmother and her failed relationship so she seeks seclusion and hides out. Suddenly a knock on the door changes her whole world. Nick, assistant to famous actress Tate Montgomery, informs Cassie that the world famous actor Jack Montgomery has died and left her all of his money claiming her as his granddaughter. His daughter, Tate, however is not about to let it go without proof. The two, along with Tate’s sister and assistants, set out to discover the truth about Jack and Cassie’s grandmother June.

I thought this book was very interesting and well written. The author took on a unique view point in that the house had a viewpoint and influenced the way Cassie felt. It told her the story of her grandmother through her dreams. The first few pages I was not sure how I would like that in the story but I soon loved it.  Experiencing that different vantage point was refreshing. The crumbling mansion started out sleepily dreaming about the past when it had June and her family living in it and ignoring Cassie who recently moved in. Example excerpt from the book:

 HOUSES DON’T ALWAYS DREAM. IN FACT, MOST DON’T. BUT once again, Two Oaks was dreaming of the girls-the one called June, who looked like a woman, and the one called Lindie, who looked like a boy. In the dream, June and Lindie lay together in what was in that era, June’s bedroom, just off the stairs.

            It was dreaming that rescued Two Oaks out of its present state-from its third-floor ballroom wheeling with bats, down its dusty master staircase, into the foyer piled with mail addressed to the dead, and hen back up the ruddy pine of the servant stairs—almost fooling the mansion into believing itself on the precipice of adventure. The old house summoned the whispers swirling off the girls’ tongues, the secrets scuttling inside their quick minds, the push of June’s will and the pull of Lindie’s desire.  (Chapter 1, page 1. Opening lines of the book)

The characters were very well developed and I really felt as though I knew these people. I hurt when they hurt and I smiled when they received a victory. I never felt as though they were simply names on a page, they were friends and family and at times, enemies. The story flowed really well and was broken into the current time, and the time in which June was young in 1955. Each section leaves you with a cliff-hanger when you have to start again with the other year. I loved the way that was set up. I could not wait to get back to the time period I was reading on but then I got sucked into the next time period and it continued that was throughout the book. I did not want to put this book down. This is a book I will reread many times.

 

*I received this book free in exchange for my honest review*

Leave a Reply

