Our Love Could Light the World

Our Love Could Light the World by Anne Leigh Parrish

The Dugans are a family of 7 trying to make ends meet once again in a new rental home. The yard doesn’t get mowed, the house is a mess, and the five children run free and horrify their neighbors. One day Lavinia decides she cannot live like that anymore and leaves her husband. All their lives change at that moment as the family has to shift in new ways.

The story was very slow and felt choppy and confusing. There were times that within a few sentences you had completely changed location without any reference to it at all. The story never really followed a sequence of events or time. The characters felt two dimensional and just like names on a piece of paper. I never felt any depth to any of them or any connection. I wanted more depth and feelings from them. I felt like they were all cold unfeeling people who just walked around looking for somebody to talk to or take care of them. Lavinia left her husband for Chip even though she never loved him; she just wanted his money. Potter apparently never not over Lavinia but other than a few vague references to the fact that he was still in love with her, you would never know. Random people would enter the book and then soon they would just fall off the face of the earth, never to be referenced again. I didn’t feel like there was any emotion to this story.

I felt as though this story was written by a kid for a high school project rather than an actual published book. The only reason I finished it was because I knew I would be writing a review and needed to have all the facts and story line before I did so, and I really hoped it would pick up at the end, it did not.

*I received a free copy of this book by StoryCartel in exchange for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

